Current members of the Council (2020-2024)

WBGU Council
Source: WBGU

The nine members of the WBGU are appointed by the German government's Federal Cabinet for a term of four years. The Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection (BMUV) and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) finance the Council and share the lead management. 
The WBGU is fully independent in its work and choice of topics. It is monitored and supported by an interministerial committee of the federal government in which the Federal Chancellery and all the ministries are represented. 
The following professors are members of the Advisory Council for the current term, which runs from 2020-2024:

Secretariat  The Council's research analysts

Karen Pittel, Foto: ifo Institut
ifo Institute, University of Munich
Law professor
University of Greifswald
Alexander Bassen
Universität Hamburg
Jörg Drewes, Photo: Technische Universität München
Environmental engineer
Technical University of Munich
Uwe Fischer, Foto: Hans Zurbuchen
Ecologist and biodiversity researcher
University of Bern
Anna-Katharina Hornidge
Development and knowledge sociologist
German Institute of Development and Sustainability (IDOS) and University of Bonn
Hans-Otto Pörtner, Photo: Kerstin Rolfes, AWI
Ecophysiologist and climate scientist
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research
Medical Scientist
University of Augsburg
Anke Weidenkaff
Materials Scientist
Fraunhofer Research Institution for Materials Recycling and Resource Strategies IWKS