Current members of the Council (2016-2020)

The nine members of the WBGU are appointed by the German government's Federal Cabinet for a term of four years. The Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) finance the Council and share the lead management. 
The WBGU is fully independent in its work and choice of topics. It is monitored and supported by an interministerial committee of the federal government in which the Federal Chancellery and all the ministries are represented. 
The following professors are members of the Advisory Council for the current term, which runs from 2016-2020:.

Secretariat  The Council's research analysts

Karen Pittel, Foto: ifo Institut
ifo Institute, IWH Halle Institute for Economic Research, University of Munich
Sabine Schlacke
law professor
University of Münster
Uwe Fischer, Foto: Hans Zurbuchen
Ecologist and biodiversity researcher
University of Bern
Martina Fromhold-Eisebith
economic geographer
RWTH Aachen University
Ulrike Grote
agricultural and development economist
University of Hanover
Ellen Matthies
University of Magdeburg
John Schellnhuber
Director Emeritus of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research