Press Release10.11.2016, Berlin

New members of German Advisory Council on Global Change appointed

The German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU) has been appointed by the Federal Cabinet for its next term, until 31.10.2020. Five of the nine Council members have been reappointed.

Reappointed are Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research; Dirk Messner, Director of the German Development Institute, Bonn; Ellen Matthies, Professor for Enviromental Psychology, University of Magdeburg; Sabine Schlacke, Professor of Public Law, specializing Building-, Environmental- and Planning Law at the University of Münster and Uwe Schneidewind, President and Chief Research Executive oft he Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy. 

First time appointed WBGU members are Ulrike Grote, Director of the Institute for Environmental Economics and World Trade, Hannover University; Martina Fromhold-Eisebith, Professor at the Institute for Geography, RWTH Aachen; Karen Pittel, Director of the Ifo Center for Energy, Climate and Exhaustible Resources and Professor of Economics, University of Munich; Ina Schieferdecker, Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems FOKUS and Professor at the Technische Universität Berlin.