Press Release26.09.2007, Berlin

German Environmental Award goes again to WBGU member

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, will receive the German Environmental Award 2007.

Again, a member of the German Advisory Council on Global Chnage (WBGU) has won the topmost-endowed European environmental award.

In 1998, Hartmut Grassl was the first WBGU member to receive the German Environmental Award. The former head of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg was a WBGU member from 1992 to 1994 and again from 2000 to 2004. During those periods, he chaired the Council for several years. In 2005, Joachim Luther, former head of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems in Freiburg, received the Award. Professor Luther was a WBGU member from 2000 to 2004. In 2006 Ernst-Detlef Schulze received the Award as well. Professor Schulze, former director of the Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry in Jena, was an active WBGU member from 1997 to 2004.

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber is a WBGU member since its foundation in 1992. From 1994-1996 he was Vice Chair, 1996-2000 Chair and since 2004 he is Vice Chair again.

Horst Köhler, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, will present the German Environmental Award 2007 at a ceremony on 29 October in Aachen.