List of Speakers

Sabine Schlacke

Sabine Schlacke is Professor of public law and executive director of the Institute for Environmental Law and Planning Law, University of Münster since 2013. Judge at the Constitutional Court of Bremen since 2011. 2008–2013 Professor of Public Law, specializing on German, European and International Environmental and Administrative Law, and executive director of the Research Centre for European Environmental Law, Bremen University. WBGU Member since 2008, since 2016 WBGU Chair.

Dirk Messner

Dirk Messner is Director of the German Development Institute (DIE), Bonn since 2004 and Co-Director of the Center for Advanced Studies on Global Cooperation Research, University of Duisburg-Essen since 2012. He teaches political science at the University of Duisburg-Essen; Professor for International Political Economy at the University of Munich (2003). WBGU Member since 2004, Chair since 2009.

Federal Minister Barbara Hendricks

Barbara Hendricks is Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety. She holds a doctorate in history and has been a Member of the German Bundestag since 1994. Barbara Hendricks was a Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance from 1998 to 2007.

Saskia Sassen

Saskia Sassen is the Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology and Member, The Committee on Global Thought, Columbia University. Her latest book is ‘Expulsions: Brutality and Complexity in the Global Economy’ (Harvard University Press 2014). She is the recipient of diverse awards, including multiple doctor honoris causa, the Principe de Asturias 2013 Prize in the Social Sciences, and made a Foreign Member of the Royal Academy of the Sciences of Netherland.

Stephan Bone-Winkel

Stephan Bone-Winkel is the founder of BEOS AG and serves as a Member of the Supervisory Board. He is also the Managing Partner of BEOS Beteiligungs-GmbH & Co. KG and CEOS Investment GmbH. In 2003, Stephan Bone-Winkel was appointed to the Endowed Chair for Real Estate Development at the European Business School. In 2006 he became Honorary Professor for Real Estate Development at the University of Regensburg (IREBS). He is a founding member of the Society for Property Researchers, Germany (gif) and the EBS alumni association, immoebs e.V. In 2014 he received the ULI Leadership Award in the Real Estate Industry category.

Joseph Schechla

Joseph Schechla has coordinated the Housing and Land Rights Network (HLRN) of the Habitat International Coalition (HIC) from Cairo, Egypt since 2000. He has previously served as programme coordinator with the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (Gaza, Palestine) and director of democratic development programs (AMIDEAST, Washington, DC). He has focused most of his research and field experience on popular movements and legal defense of economic, social and cultural rights within the UN Human Rights System.

Leilani Farha

Leilani Farha is the Special Rapporteur on the Right to Adequate Housing, appointed by the United Nations Human Rights Council. She is also the executive director of Canada Without Poverty, an NGO based in Ottawa, Canada. A human rights lawyer by training, she has worked both internationally and domestically on the implementation of economic and social rights for the past 20 years. In Canada Leilani Farha worked on housing rights issues as the Executive Director of the Centre for Equality Rights in Accommodation (CERA).

Karen Pittel

Karen Pittel is Director of the Ifo Center for Energy, Climate and Exhaustible Resources and Professor of Economics, esp. Energy, Climate and Exhaustible Natural Resources, Faculty of Economics, University of Munich since 2010. Director of Center for Economic Policy at ZHAW, Winterthur 2009–2010. Member of, i.a., the Climate Council of Bavaria since 2015, the German Committee Future Earth (German Science Foundation DFG) since 2013 and the Council of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (EAERE) since 2014. WBGU Member since 2016.

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber CBE

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber is Founder and Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research; Professor for Theoretical Physics at the University of Potsdam; External Professor at the Santa Fe Institute. Leadership and review activities for numerous international programmes. Since 2005 Member of the National Academy of Sciences. Blue Planet Price Winner 2017. WBGU Member since 1992, 1994–1996 Vice Chair, 1996–2000 Chair, 2004–2008 Vice Chair again, 2009–2016 Chair.

Carlo Ratti

An architect and engineer by training, Carlo Ratti teaches at MIT, where he directs the Senseable City Lab. He is also a founding partner of the international design and innovation office Carlo Ratti Associati. His work has been exhibited worldwide at venues such as the Venice Biennale, the Design Museum Barcelona, the Science Museum in London, MAXXI in Rome, and MoMA in New York City. He is currently serving as co-chair of the World Economic Forum Global Future Council on Cities and Urbanization.

Shivani Chaudhry

Shivani Chaudhry is the Executive Director of Housing and Land Rights Network (HLRN), New Delhi, where she has been working since 2004. Prior to this, she worked with the Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL) in Washington, DC. She has been working in the field of human rights for over fifteen years, with a specific focus on economic, social and cultural rights, especially the human rights to adequate housing, land, livelihood, and the environment. She was a member of the Ministry of Rural Development’s Task Force on Land Reforms, and contributed to the draft national land reform policy.

Ina Schieferdecker

Ina Schieferdecker is Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS, since 2015), President of the Association for Software Quality and Education (ASQF, since 2015), Spokesperson of the Smart City Network Berlin (since 2016), Professor for Quality Engineering of Open Distributed Systems at Technische Universität Berlin, formerly Professor for Model-Driven Engineering of Software-Based Systems at Freie Universität Berlin (2011–2014) and Professor for design and testing telecommunication systems at Technische Universität Berlin (2003–2011). WBGU Member since 2016.